

Place and Space in the Early Modern World

A workshop organised by the Early Modern Studies research group (EMS) at the University of Bristol.

Wednesday 10 May, 12-5.

University of Bristol, Arts Complex, 7 Woodland Road. 'Cinema Room' ARTS CMPLX G.H01

Programme

12-12.45	Lunch (served in the 'break out space': straight through from the main entrance at 7 Woodland Road by the large mural)
12.45-1	Welcome. Sebastiaan Verweij
1-3.10	Flash papers sessions. Chair: Ed Holberton
	[See schedule on the reverse side of this programme]
3.10-3.30	Coffee break
3.30-4	Future planning. Chair: Sebastiaan Verweij

A discussion about our shared and complementary research remits and methods, and what sort of future and collaborative research activities could support this group (symposium; publication; grant application to GW4; impact and engagement activity).

4-5 Keynote lecture: Professor Nicola Whyte (University of Exeter). Chair: John Morgan

'Sacred landscapes and the subterranean imagination'

About Nicola: My research is interdisciplinary and concerned with environmental humanities approaches to climate and environmental change. I am interested in crossing borders, troubling categories and decolonising conventional approaches to research and teaching. My research expertise lies in the landscape and social history of the post-medieval period (c. 1500 to the present). For more information see: <u>https://history.exeter.ac.uk/staff/whyte/</u>.

Flash paper schedule

1.00-1.30 Flash Panel 1	Fabrizio Nevola, Exeter (Art History) Mary Bateman (English) Emily Derbyshire (Liberal Arts) Lucy Donkin (History / History of Art)
1.30-2.00 Flash Panel 2	Philip Schwyzer, Exeter (English) Mark Hailwood (History) Tamsin Badcoe (English) Evan Jones (History) John Morgan (Geographical Sciences)
2.00-2.10 Comfort break	
2.10-2.40 Flash Panel 3	Karen Dempsey, Cardiff (Archeology) Richard Fisher (History) Edward Rendall (History and English) Ellie Rycroft (Theatre)
2.40-3.10 Flash Panel 4	Mark Williams, Cardiff (History) Tzuchien Tho (Philosophy) Gonzalo Velasco Berenguer (History) Laurence Publicover (English)

Delegates not giving flash papers

Owen Adams Kenneth Austin Janet Clare Steve De Hailes Helen Fulton Freya Gourley Rachel Hare Ed Holberton Catherine Hunt Simon Knight Tyler Rainford Roma Rice Anita Sikora Amy Smith **Richard Stone** Sebastiaan Verweij Gina Walter